Alice Dee elected as President of Durham SU


has been elected as President of Durham Students’ Union for 2016/17.


The other results are as follows:

Academic Affairs Officer: Lisa Whiting

Activities Officer: Kara-Jane Senior

Community Officer: Jo Gower

Development Officer: Adam Jarvis


3,586 (18.3%) people voted in the elections, marking a 0.3% increase on last year, where turnout stood at 18% with 3,540 people voting.

Alice Dee, elected President, said: “Thank you to everyone who has supported me throughout this campaign. It hasn’t been the best ten days of my life, but thank you to Jade who has given me a run for my money.”

Elsewhere, Lisa Whiting, Academic Affairs, remarked: “I had no idea I’d be running alongside three other incredible people. Thank you.”

Adam Jarvis, Development, said: “I wasn’t expecting this… A massive thank you to Anoushka for being the hardest person to run against. Thank you to everyone who voted.”

Kara-Jane Senior, who will continue in her role as Activities Officer next year, stated: “Thank you to everyone who has supported me this year, as well as last year. I promise that this year will be another good year.”

According to statistics held by Durham Students’ Union, turnout was the highest at St Chad’s, where 261 out of 605 students (43.14%) voted. Other colleges with respectively high turnouts were St Aidan’s (37.1%), Trevelyan (32.57%), and Collingwood (29.24%).

Colleges with the lowest turnout included Ustinov (5.52%), Stephenson College (5.68%), John Snow (5.79%), Van Mildert (11.09%), Josephine Butler (11.32%), and Hatfield (13.09%).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.