Strokes guitarist to release Josh Homme produced CRX album


The Strokes’ rhythm guitarist, Nick Valensi has announced the release date and tracklisting for his new band’s debut album, New Skin. CRX’s album will be released on Colombia Records and features Josh Homme on production duties.

Valensi has been out on tour with CRX over August (see below), unveiling the band to a series of smaller audiences during four shows across the US.

Fittingly for a band who share a name with a make of Honda, CRX’s sound is a blend of more muscular and melodic garage rock, their image, unashamedly ‘80s retro. The tour will conclude on September 20 when the band support Beck at Express Live in Colombus.

Homme has been a regular collaborator with other acts including a song-writing stint with Iggy Pop earlier in the year on his latest release, Post Pop Depression. The album also featured Arctic Monkeys’ drummer, Matt Helders and QOTSA/Dead Weather guitarist, Dean Fertita.

Homme’s big-name collaborations include Arctic Monkeys, whose third album, Humbug he produced. Homme previously sought Strokes’ lead-man, Julian Casablancas to provide backing vocals on 2007 single, “Sick, Sick, Sick.” Whether the collaboration will prove a Stroke of genius for Valensi remains to be seen. It will be the first time audiences have heard Valensi’s voice on record, after fifteen years as a sideman for The Strokes.

The tracks on CRX, New Skin as revealed on Twitter today are:

CRX album revealed
Tweet from CRX announcing release of new album track listing


Featured Image Courtesy of Flickr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.